Monday, January 25, 2021

Tolentino wins POC Election


Latest Stories

Ramos on fire as Gilas Pilipinas smashes Thailand

Dwight Ramos shone as Gilas Pilipinas destroyed Thailand, 93-61, in the second window of the 2021 FIBA Asia Cup...

Thompson’s dagger trey sends Ginebra to Philippine Cup Finals

SCOTTIE Thompson sent the Barangay Ginebra Gin Kings to the Philippine Cup Finals with a clutch three-pointer that broke...

POC elections set today

THE Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) is set to see some changes as its new officials are elected today. In the...

Tiamzons found guilty for 1988 kidnapping of soldiers

A Quezon City court on Friday found activist couple Benito and Wilma Tiamzon guilty of kidnapping and serious illegal...

Military chopper crash lands, 1 dead in Lanao Sur

ZAMBOANGA CITY: A Philippine Air Force helicopter transporting soldiers wounded in a bomb explosion crash landed in Lanao del...

Integrated Cycling Federation of the Philippines head Abraham “Bambol” Tolentino won the 2020 Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) presidential race on Friday at the East Ocean Palace Restaurant in Parañaque City.

Tolentino won over Clint Aranas, president of the World Archery Philippines, 30-27.

“It’s an honor; this is a full-year term and there will be a lot of surprises. That one year that I had, we already did a lot. What more with a full four-year term along with this team,” Tolentino said during the press conference.

Cavite representative and Integrated Cycling Federation of the Philippines president Abraham ‘Bambol’ Tolentino. FILE PHOTO

The Cavite representative served out the term of Ricky Vargas following the latter’s resignation in June 2019.

Only 53 out of 54 eligible national sports association (NSA) heads cast their votes, and only the Philippine Table Tennis Federation opted not to participate in the election.

Stephen Hontiveros of the Philippine Handball Federation will serve another term as secretary-general after garnering 28 votes against Triathlon Association of the Philippines president Tomas Carrasco Jr.’s 25.

Al Panlilio of Samahang Basketbol Ng Pilipinas was elected POC first vice president, beating Philip Juico of the Philippine Athletics Track & Field Association, 30-23.

Richard Gomez of Philippine Fencing Association took the POC second vice-president post after defeating Ada Milby, secretary-general of the Philippine Rugby Football Union, 31-22.

Gymnastics Association of the Philippines’ Cynthia Carrion Norton was elected POC treasurer after a 27-22 win over Julian Camacho, secretary-general of the Wushu Federation of the Philippines.

Joaquin “Chito” Loyzaga of the Philippine Amateur Baseball Association took the POC auditor position with a 27-24 win over Samahang Weightlifting ng Pilipinas head Monico Puentevella.

The four newly elected POC executive board members are Raul Canlas, president of United Philippine Surfing Association (36 votes); David Carter, president of Philippine Judo Federation (27 votes); Charlie Ho, president of Philippine Netball Federation (28 votes); and Pearl Managuelod, secretary-general of Muay Thai Association of the Philippines (31 votes).



Today's Frontpage